A quote from… Henry Scholberg

Some years back, Henry Scholberg’s bibliography on Goa was ubiquitious and a very important work. Today, while browsing through the Goa section of books at the Golden Heart Emporium in Margao, I came across a comment made by him in his own autobiography: 

I got an AIIS grant to spend two months in Goa where I worked on my *Bibliography of Goa & The Portuguese in India* in 1975. This, when it would come out five years later, was to be my magnum opus…. My other collaborator on the Goa Project was Archana Kakodkar. She was a Hindu lady; and I found, as I compared my working relationship with her and Carmo Azavedo who is a Christian, that the Hindu behaved more like a Christian than the Christian did… — From the chapter ‘The Ames Library of South Asia’ in *That’s India: The Memoirs of An Old India Hand*. Henry Scholberg ISBN 81-85002-30-4. Biblophile South Asia/Promilla & Co 2002. p. 143

Blogged with the Flock Browser
About fredericknoronha

Alt.Publishing. Journalism. Books. Cyberspace. Networking.

Leave a Reply

